Happy Birthday, Laura’s Blog!

To save you all the trouble of remembering, this weird little blog is now two years old.

If my blog were a child it would likely be:

  • Copying others emotionally and socially
  • Getting excited around other blogs
  • Showing defiant behavior
  • Pointing to things in books

So, yes, I’d say my blog is right on track!

I still don’t know what I’m doing with this blog. I still don’t know what I’m doing with my life. In recent news, I’m in California right now, looking for jobs (hopefully at this really awesome bookstore!) and trying to write. It’s a little bit like being in a different country. People out here are infinitely stranger than I thought they’d be, not in a bad way. It’s just… different. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little lonely and homesick.

But this is the life I signed up for and there’s no turning back! (Is there turning back? If there’s turning back, don’t tell me! I don’t want to know.)

So, in another year of blog writing, I’ve gone from having a job and a long-term place to live to having no job and no long-term place to live. But I’m still writing. And who ever said that life moves in a linear fashion? They’re just bozos.

There’s a lot that has been going on in the world. A coup in Turkey. Recent massacre in France. Continuing grief and anger about shootings and racial violence in the United States.

I would like to end on a more positive note, though, so I’ll just say, be kind to one another. Continue to carry each other as much and as well as you can. We’re not alone even if we feel alone.

If there’s anything that my blog accomplishes, I hope it’s to be a voice reminding you of that.

I am sending all my love.

Happy birthday, blog!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

