This I Believe Revisited

In my freshman year of high school, my humanities teacher, one of the coolest people I know, asked us all to write a “This I Believe” statement a la the NPR segment. I wrote then about feeding our cat Kitty/Jake (probably should write a blogpost bout that too someday). I’d like to write now about the Force.

I believe in the Force. Not in midochlorians. Not in telekinetic powers. Not in Darth Binx. I do think lightsabers would be better than guns.

What I believe in is a connection between all things in the universe. In a physical and in a spiritual sense. We are all made from electrons spinning and whirling around somewhere (forgive my hazy physics…), and on a particle level I am not entirely sure where I end and the rest of the world begins. In that sense, I am in some way connected to the farthest reaches of the universe. This provides me comfort sometimes when I’m missing people, I know that we are still in contact whatever the distance.

But more than a physical conception of this universal connection, there is my simple belief in it. From my childhood religious days, I learned that beliefs are not based on rationalizations. They come instead from that secret locked door just behind your heart. And while I’ve moved away from many of the teachings of those early years, I still believe in belief.

I believe that we are connected, that every action pulls us in some direction, that the words we speak, the way we treat others, it impacts us all. Which is why we must be kind. Which is why we must be better than what we believe we can be. Not only for the people we are impacting in the present, but for all the consequences that ripple from it. Out to the furthest edges of the galaxy.

This I believe.

Leave a Reply

