The Hobbit Fan Contest: An Unexpected Title

(The humor in the title, is that it is expected that I would use something along the lines of “an unexpected party” or “there and back again” or something similar.)

Well, friends, the Hobbit competition is not yet over. It will officially end in three days, the 22nd, Frodo and Bilbo’s birthday. But I’ve now done everything I can, so I’m calling it over.

And when I say “I’ve done everything”, I mean “you’ve done everything”. I don’t know exactly what I expected when I started this competition, but what I didn’t expect was the massive amounts of support from all corners. I don’t just mean in the re-tweeting, which has been so amazingly helpful, but also in my day-to-day interactions. Professors wishing me the best. People saying that they would create twitter accounts for this sole purpose. People saying they are rooting for me, asking me about my progress. Generally letting me know that while this is a long shot, there are people around who want me to do well and believe I can win. This support kept me going when I started doubting whether I could actually do this, or if I was just fooling myself.  I just wanted to say thank you all so much. You are unbelievably supportive and wonderful friends, and I’m truly blessed.

I don’t know how I’ll do in this competition. (I’ll find out early October ish.) I’m tied for first in points again, but that’s not a guarantee, of course. What I can say, though, is that even if I don’t win, I feel extremely fortunate. Fortunate to have such great friends and family. Fortunate that I have had the privilege to love something as deeply as I love Middle Earth. Fortunate to know that no matter what happens, I will find a way to get back to New Zealand.

There and back again. It’s a promise.

Leave a Reply

