Small News

Or as Jay would say “small” “news”.

Just found out last night that starting on August 25, 2014 the makers of The Hobbit (“the” “hobbit”) will begin a worldwide contest to find the ultimate Hobbit fans.

CAN YOU SEE HOW CONFLICTED THIS MAKES ME???

1) It is me. It is obviously me. I am one of the truest Tolkien fans I know, and this after four years at Carleton! (Note: I make a lot of bold statements here! I mean them in a very over the top and exaggerated way, a sort of sweeping statement of emotion. There are many different ways in which one can be the truest Tolkien fan!) I mean pretty much every action I’ve taken since I saw The Fellowship eleven years ago can be traced back to Tolkien. I learned German because it was as close as I could get to Old English in high school. I went to Carleton largely because Barrie M. Osborne, the producer of The Lord of the Rings, is an alumn. If I ever get married (unlikely) it will have to be on March 22, 2015, exactly one century after Ronald and Edith tied the knot. I wore the One Ring from our Lord of the Rings Risk game for almost a year! It is me!

2.) It is obviously not me. True, I think the original trilogy-the origogy, if you will- is the best thing that has happened to me, but I can’t say the same for this new trilogy purportedly based on The Hobbit. I will refrain from ranting in case it hurts my chances. Suffice to say I was less than highly highly enthused.

So that’s my problem. I’m definitely a true enough fan, but what if it’s not in the sense they mean? Not to mention those who win will only be “entered to win a once-in-a-lifetime journey to experience the cinematic Middle-earth in New Zealand, and watch the Trilogy’s epic finale, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, with director Peter Jackson”.

I’m slobbering just typing it. Those crafty devils know how to tempt a person…

Well, until the contest begins and I actually know what it is, I’ll just spend my time learning Elvish, re-watching all the movies, re-reading the books, and maybe actually finishing The Silmarillion. Even for me that book is dryer than butter scraped over too much bread.

This does not include my German copy of the Hobbit, the family copy of all four books, the Silmarillion which I have at home, my Evanstar pendant, the One Ring (which I know is around somewhere it just doesn't slip off unnoticed...), and the 36x24in collage I made of my Lord of the Rings flip calendar.

This does not include my German copy of the Hobbit, the family copy of all four books, the Silmarillion which I have at home, my Evanstar pendant, the One Ring (which I know is around somewhere it just doesn’t slip off unnoticed…), and the 36x24in collage I made of my Lord of the Rings flip calendar.

This is what I’ve been driven to:

Best decision or worst decision? Still can't tell.

Best decision or worst decision? Still can’t tell.

This is all I am anymore:

Working on it.

Working on it.

Ah well, the Shadow is only a passing thing: there is light and high beauty for ever beyond its reach.

3 thoughts on “Small News

  1. LAURA LAURA I AM SO GLAD YOU ALSO DISLIKE THE HOBBIT MOVIES I WOULD LOVE TO TRASH TALK THEM WITH YOU. And not to get into a nerd-off or anything, but 1) did I ever tell you that I wrote my Carleton admissions essay on LOTR (and if I did not, how in god’s name did that never come up) , 2) I cannot believe you didn’t finish the Silmarillion, and 3) if you think the Silmarillion is dry, you should try the Lays of Beleriand, by which I mean NEVER read the Lays of Beleriand.
    Nerd cred aside, it is clear to me that you are the truest fan.

    Like

    • 1) THAT IS THE BEST! I do remember one of my first encounters with you, you had the White Tree of Gondor t-shirt on. It made me very very glad.
      2) I swear I’ve started the Silmarillion seven times. I get further each time but then the drool sticks the pages together.. It is shameful, though, it’s true! I did not mean to insult anyone else’s nerd cred! I should amend my previous statements…I get carried away by emotions.
      ALSO YES LET’S DO SOME TRASH TALKZ!

      Like

Leave a Reply

